Picture Perfect Photo Gallery

In The Winning Cars of the Indianapolis 500, James Craig Reinhardt, author and official tour guide for the Indianapolis Motor Speedway, details the history of the famous race and how the open-wheel race cars have evolved over the last century. Starting in 1911 with the first running of the Indy 500, Reinhardt profiles each race and car, including the starting position, engine, tires, race speed, margin of victory, and much more.

Featuring nearly 200 images of the automobiles and individuals who make the race renowned, this book showcases the top drivers and how racing has changed through two world wars, the Great Depression, and unforgettable accidents. Get a sneak peek at the book’s breathtaking images below!

Photo 1 of 5: The winner of the inaugural Indianapolis 500 in 1911.
Photo 2 of 5: The #6 sported an aerodynamic tail design in the 1937 race. 
Photo 3 of 5: The winner of the 1977 Indianapolis 500.
Photo 4/5: Jimmy Murphy at the wheel with riding mechanic Ernie Olson prior to taking the checkered flag in the #8 Murphy Special in 1922.
Photo 5/5: Takuma Sato and the #26 cross the bricks on the first day of practice, Monday, May 12, 2017.